I. Theme
Nature
- in terms of how i incorperated nature into my projects through surface design and glazes
- how i used positive and negitive space to show nature in my projects
- how when i did not use surface design, i used certain colors and glazing techniques to show nature

II What
- my lidded, teapot and hand and wheel use surface design
- my theme choice 2, theme choice and theme choice 3 all use glazes instead of surface texture to illustrate nature

III How
- through coils and negitive space on my wheel altered, carvings and a handle on my teapot, and carvings and a lid on my lidded project; nature is shown
- with certain colors and pictures like the ocean floor on my theme choice, the surreal look that nature can represent by my theme choice 2, and fish swimming in the ocean in my theme choice 3 project

IV Why
I chose this theme for many reasons. For one, nature is all around us. By living in the Snoqualmie Valley we are exposed to nature much more than people in metropolitian areas. Another reason is the role nature has played in history such as in the transcendental movements. And lastly, becuase of my personal expierences with nature as a place to escape to and clear my head.

V Conclusion
Although this is my second semester of ceramics, i have only begun to realize how theme can play into one's artwork, perticulary nature. Also, how theme can influence a project before the project is even created by the surface design or the glaze.




Leave a Reply.